Community Scoop

Winners of E Tū Whānau poster competition announced

Press Release – E Tu Whanau

E T Whnau is delighted to announce the winners of the E T Whnau poster competition.PANUI PAPAHO | MEDIA RELEASE 12/11/2018

For immediate release

Winners of E Tū Whānau poster competition announced

E Tū Whānau is delighted to announce the winners of the E Tū Whānau poster competition.

This is the first time the competition has been held and the creativity and individual take on three of the E Tū Whānau values has been outstanding says judge Kura Te Waru-Rewiri.

“It has been wonderful and a privilege to view these works. There is definite talent in all of the entrants and they are all to be commended for entering the competition.”

The competition was based around three values:

• AROHA – giving with no expectation of return

• MANA MANAAKI – building the mana of others through nurturing, growing and challenging

• WHAKAPAPA –knowing who you are and where you belong

Entrants could use any medium to depict a value and could enter as many times as they liked. More than 250 entries were received overall and the thought that went into them and connection to the values was a highlight for judge Janine Williams.

“I love the deeper understanding that is apparent throughout the entries. A sense that aroha, mana manaaki and whakapapa are all deeper words with a lot more meaning.”

Winning entries will be used to create posters and other resources to help share the E Tū Whānau kaupapa, a Māori initiative to create positive change. The competition was run in partnership with Māori Radio and the Māori Media Network and all entries can be viewed in the poster competition gallery on the E Tū Whānau Facebook page.

The posters were judged by esteemed artists – Kura Te Waru-Rewiri (Associate Professor of Massey University’s School of Art), Janine Williams and Charles Williams (muralists / community artists) in conjunction with the E Tū Whānau team.

There was also a popular vote category which attracted lots of action through until voting close off at noon yesterday.

The winners are:

General Category (all entrants)


Jordan Schick (Te Arawa), Whakatane


Tyrone Smith (Te Arawa rāua kō Ngāti Kahungunu), Christchurch


Richard Murray (Te Rarawa), Ahipara

Tamariki Category (12 years and under)


Quintin Dalgety (Ngāti Maru, Timutimu), Thames, 10 years old


Tuhua Keepa (Ngāi Tauwhao, Ngāi Taiwhakaea, Ngāti Hokopu), Te Puke, 9 years old


Lucas Waitere-Nadayave (Ngāti Tutemohuta, Ngāti Tuwharetoa), Waitahanui/Taupo, 9 years old

Most Votes

Ngatoia Pincott (Ngāti Raukawa, Rangitaane, Kahungunu, Ngāi Tūhoe, Rongowhakaata, Te Aitanga-a-Maahaki, Rongomaiwahine), Gisborne


2018 E Tū Whānau Poster Competition Gallery

Content Sourced from
Original url