Community Scoop

Winners Announced in Third Annual iSANZ Awards

Press Release – ISANZ

One of the worlds newest CERTs, an online training module, a home-grown security firm and three highly-skilled professionals at the forefront of information security were honoured last night at the third annual iSANZ Awards.Winners Announced in Third Annual iSANZ Awards

One of the world’s newest CERTs, an online training module, a home-grown security firm and three highly-skilled professionals at the forefront of information security were honoured last night at the third annual iSANZ Awards.

Judged awards were handed out in five categories. A Hall of Fame Award was also presented – recognising one person’s enduring contribution to the industry.

iSANZ Board Chair Kendra Ross says the awards recognise the exceptional people and organisations contributing their expertise, insight, and dedication to improving and benefiting New Zealand’s digital security.

“The cyber threat landscape is challenging and constantly-evolving. The entries we received this year exemplify the hard, backroom work that goes on behind the scenes to protect networks of businesses and organisations across New Zealand from malicious activity.

“We were impressed by the accomplishments and achievements of all our entrants, finalists and winners. They are leaders in the information security field and number among some of the most skilled professionals anywhere in the world.”

The winners in the 2017 iSANZ Awards are:

Best Security Project / Initiative

CERTNZ, for building a computer emergency response team for New Zealand.

As one of the world’s newest computer emergency response teams, CERTNZ was set up and launched in 9 months. It sits at the centre of the country’s cyber-security response – acting as a coordinating entity to identify threats and help users respond.

Best Security Awareness Campaign

Spark NZ, for its online training module – ‘The Way We Work’.
‘The Way We Work’ was launched in October 2016. The interactive internal campaign is themed around the PacMan game and is designed to teach Spark’s staff how to recognise, report and react to security incidents.

Best Security Company

Aura Information Security.

Aura provides a suite of InfoSec services here and overseas. The company has introduced several new and innovative initiatives over the past year and was recently accepted as a ‘Primary Supplier’ for the Government’s ICT Security & Related Services panel.

Best International Superstar

Laura Bell.
Laura founded security firm SafeStack in 2014. A highly-regarded researcher, she’s garnered profile as an international conference speaker over the past decade and is heavily involved in security-related mentoring, education and outreach roles here and overseas.

Up-and-coming Cybersecurity Star

Erica Anderson.
Erica is a Department of Corrections security analyst. She’s been working in information security for 3 years – making a strong contribution in her day job and community efforts including Code Club Aotearoa, Tech Futures Lab, Summer of Tech and the BSides conference.

Hall of Fame Award

Dr Peter Gutmann.
Peter is Honorary Researcher in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Auckland. Over decades he has made several pioneering contributions to the information security industry– including developing the CryptLib software security library, Secure File System, and contributing to PGP version 2.

The 2017 iSANZ Awards are sponsored by Check Point, Context, Micro Focus, Arbor Networks, Aura Information Security, SailPoint, Symantec/Westcon-Comstor, McAfee, RSA and Datacom. Supporting organisations are 1st Tuesday, ConnectSmart, Duo NZ, InternetNZ, Izard Weston, TechDay Security Brief, NZITF, SiteHost and Stephenson Thorner.
About iSANZ:

iSANZ is a non-profit organisation, set up to formally recognise the achievements of outstanding New Zealand InfoSec professionals, companies and initiatives/events. In doing so it aims to inspire, promote and reflect on the New Zealand InfoSec industry and its people.

Content Sourced from
Original url