Young people ‘Stand Up’ to dangerous driving

Press Release – Christchurch City Council

The energetic Crash Bash Road Show, a touring event that promotes road safety to Christchurch high school students, kicks off on Tuesday 28 February and presents a strong message for teenagers around driving, alcohol and their peers.Thursday 23 February 2012

Young people Stand Up to dangerous driving
The energetic Crash Bash Road Show, a touring event that promotes road safety to Christchurch high school students, kicks off on Tuesday 28 February and presents a strong message for teenagers around driving, alcohol and their peers.
This year’s road show, entitled Stand Up, will tour Christchurch high schools throughout March, incorporating drama and music to share its message of “standing up” to the pressure to make risky decisions. The show has been developed by CPIT’s National Academy of Singing and Dramatic Art (NASDA).
Secondary students will then be invited to submit DVDs of their own performance concepts, with the winning entry being crafted by NASDA into the following year’s road show. The $1000 cash prize is an incentive for young people to get creative and think about practical solutions.
Sarah Numan, Unit Manager Business Support at the Christchurch City Council, says young people aged 15 to 19 are disproportionately represented in New Zealand road crash statistics.
“We want to see a shift in these statistics by targeting young people in new and creative ways and encouraging students to come up with their own interpretations and messages. Young people speaking to their peers comes across much better than another lecture from an adult,” she says.
Crash Bash director and NASDA tutor Ross McKellar says the show prepares young people to stand up for themselves, their friends and their family. “We’re not focusing on the consequences, because young people know them already. We’re all about staying strong and taking action. That’s the message that needs to be heard at the moment, and Crash Bash has young people spreading it in a fun way.”
The annual road show is run by the Council in association with the New Zealand Transport Agency and SADD (Students Against Driving Drunk).

– Ends –

Media Advisory:

Friday 24 February, 1.30pm
NASDA, Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology, 60 Madras Street

The Crash Bash show will be previewed for schoolteachers, and media are welcome to attend.

Crash Bash Road Show Timetable:

Tues 28 Feb – Rudolph Steiner School, 10.40am
Wed 29 Feb – Aranui College, 10.25am
Thurs 1 Mar – St Bede’s College, 10am

Fri 2 Mar – Lincoln High School, 11.15am

Fri 2 Mar – Catholic Cathedral College, 1.30pm

Mon 5 Mar – Villa Maria College, 8.30am
Mon 5 Mar – Te Kura o Te Whanau Tahi, 11.45am
Wed 7 Mar – Riccarton High School, 9.30am and 11am
Fri 9 Mar – Rangiora High School, 8.40am
Fri 9 Mar – Rangiora New Life, 10am
Fri 9 Mar – St Thomas of Canterbury College, 12.10pm
Tues 13 Mar – Mairehau High School, 9.45am

Wed 14 and Wed 21 Mar – Cashmere High School, 10.30am
Thurs 15 Mar – St Margaret’s College, 10am
Thurs 15 Mar – Christchurch Girls’ High School, 12.30am
Tues 20 Mar – Avonside Girls’ High School, 8.30am
Tues 20 Mar – Hornby High School, 9.40am
Thurs 22 Mar – St Andrew’s College, 9.30am and 10.10am
Fri 23 Mar – Shirley Boys’ High School, 9.20am and 10.20am
Mon 26, Tues 27, Thurs 29, Fri 30 Mar – Burnside High School, 8.15 am
Tues 27 Mar – Linwood College, 12.50pm

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url