Community Scoop

New Labour line-up announced

Press Release – New Zealand Labour Party

David Shearer today announced Labour’s new line-up that promotes new faces and focuses on Labour’s priorities for a clean, green and innovative New Zealand that supports strong families and communities.David
Labour Leader
19 December 2011 MEDIA STATEMENT

New Labour line-up announced

David Shearer today announced Labour’s new line-up that promotes new faces and focuses on Labour’s priorities for a clean, green and innovative New Zealand that supports strong families and communities.

“Labour has a lot of work to do to refresh our connections with New Zealanders. I have built a team that brings forward new faces. They will have responsibility in the key areas we want to emphasise in developing our vision for New Zealand.

“I am also giving senior responsibilities to experienced MPs who will contribute to this new vision.

“We are going to change our tone and we are going to take a fresh look at our priorities.

“I am very proud of the team who will lead the change and help lead Labour into the future,” David Shearer said.

“Our caucus is united, energised and ready for action. Labour has a fresh vision and a plan to grow our economy so that we make the most of our talented, creative workforce and create a country where all Kiwis can flourish.

“We want to put an end to the growing gap between the rich and the rest of New Zealand and believe the way forward is to nurture our innovative and creative sectors. That is reflected in the portfolios that feature prominently among Labour’s new line-up,” said David Shearer.

Labour’s reshuffle is based on a Shadow Cabinet with the top 20 MPs ranked, while the remaining members are not ranked but are listed in order based on their seniority.

David Shearer will hold the portfolio of Science and Innovation, indicating his commitment to this sector and its importance in terms of Labour’s economic plan.

Deputy Leader Grant Robertson will be responsible for the Environment, Tertiary Education, and Skills and Training portfolios, reinforcing our focus on a clean, green, clever New Zealand.

David Parker takes up Finance and Jacinda Ardern will be the new Social Development spokesperson.

David Cunliffe will responsible for Economic Development and will be an Associate Finance Spokesman.

Clayton Cosgrove has SOEs, Associate Finance, Commerce, Small Business and Trade Negotiations, Shane Jones has Regional Development and Associate Finance, while Nanaia Mahuta takes over Education.

“I am determined to make use of the talents all of our MPs have – with 34 MPs I need all my team contributing fully. Everyone has a significant responsibility.

“I have made clear that I will be looking closely at the performance of every MP and strong performers will be rewarded.

“This is a fresh start for Labour and is the beginning of the journey from Opposition back to Government in 2014”

See attached list for rankings and portfolio responsibilities.

MP Portfolios
1 David Shearer Leader
Security Intelligence Service
Science and Innovation
2 Grant Robertson Deputy Leader
Tertiary Education, Skills and Training
3 David Parker Finance
4 Jacinda Ardern Social Development
5 David Cunliffe Economic Development
Associate Finance
6 Clayton Cosgrove SOEs
Small Business
Trade Negotiations
Associate Finance
7 Shane Jones Regional Development
Associate Finance
Economic Development (Māori)
8 Nanaia Mahuta Education
Associate Māori Affairs (Social)
9 Maryan Street Health
Disarmament and Arms Control
Associate Foreign Affairs
10 Su’a William Sio Employment
Pacific Island Affairs
Inter-Faith Dialogue
Associate Foreign Affairs
11 Phil Twyford Transport
Auckland Issues
Associate Environment
12 Trevor Mallard Shadow Leader of the House
Associate Finance
America’s Cup
13 Charles Chauvel Justice (incl Courts and Corrections)
Attorney General
Arts, Culture and Heritage
14 Lianne Dalziel Canterbury Earthquake Recovery
Civil Defence and Emergency Management
Earthquake Commission
Consumer Rights and Standards
Associate Justice
15 Chris Hipkins Senior Whip
State Services
Associate Education
16 Phil Goff Foreign Affairs and Trade
17 Annette King Housing
Local Government
18 Darien Fenton Junior Whip
19 Damien O’Connor Primary Industries
Food Safety
20 Clare Curran Communications and Information Technology Broadcasting
Open Government
Disability Issues
Ruth Dyson Conservation
Senior Citizens
Internal Affairs
Parekura Horomia Māori Affairs
Treaty Negotiations
Sue Moroney Early Childhood Education
Womens Affairs
Moana Mackey Energy
Climate Change
Iain Lees-Galloway Defence
Transport Safety
Veterans Affairs
Associate Health (Alcohol and Drugs)
Raymond Huo Building and Construction
Land Information
Rajen Prasad Ethnic Affairs
Associate Social Development
Kris Faafoi Police
Associate Health
Louisa Wall Sport and Recreation
Community and Voluntary Sector
David Clark Revenue
Associate Tertiary Education
Andrew Little ACC
Rino Tirikatene Tourism
Megan Woods Youth Affairs
Associate Science & Innovation
Ross Robertson Nominee for Assistant Speaker
Associate Disarmament (Small Arms)


Content Sourced from
Original url