Community Scoop

Treasury Legal Team best in New Zealand

Press Release – New Zealand Treasury

The Treasury’s solicitors have been voted the best in-house legal team in New Zealand.

11 November 2011


Immediate Release

Treasury Legal Team best in New Zealand

The Treasury’s solicitors have been voted the best in-house legal team in New Zealand.

Manager Jeremy Salmond accepted the In-house Counsel Team of the Year award at the 2011 New Zealand Law Awards last night. Winners represent the cream of the profession and are judged by their peers.

Acting Treasury Secretary Andrew Kibblewhite said it was a tribute to the team that it was considered for such a prestigious prize, and that winning the award supported the Treasury’s ambition to lead through example.

“As an organisation and a Central Agency, we aim to lead through our own exemplary performance. We see success defined by the strength of our values and through our impact, image and brand, so that businesses and agencies across the country respect us for the relevance of what we say.

“Our Legal Team plays an integral role within the Treasury and is highly valued by staff and the leadership team alike for its excellent service. It is the ultimate compliment to have the team’s quality affirmed by other lawyers.”

The award defines excellence in customer service as:

• Providing proactive, effective, timely and strategic legal advice;

• Having a genuine understanding of the client’s business and their market sector, reflected in commercially pragmatic solutions;

• Being aware of cross-disciplinary impacts, with the ability to advise on them or to refer on where necessary;

• Being responsive to the client’s need for speedy and cost-effective resolution;

• Advising as to the client’s legal and practical options with result-focused professionalism and clarity; and

• Having up-to-date knowledge of developments in legal, policy, and other relevant matters.
Last night’s function is promoted as the highlight of the legal profession’s calendar. Other contenders for the award were Auckland Council, Housing New Zealand Corporation, Transfield Services (NZ) Ltd and Westpac New Zealand Ltd.

Content Sourced from
Original url