Community Scoop

New Zealand Police: ‘Mo Bros’ graduate tomorrow

Press Release – New Zealand Police

Seventy-five new constables will graduate from The Royal New Zealand Police College in Wing 270 tomorrow. Their wing patron is Michael Wintringham CNZM, BA (Hons).‘Mo Bros’ graduate tomorrow

Seventy-five new constables will graduate from The Royal New Zealand Police College in Wing 270 tomorrow. Their wing patron is Michael Wintringham CNZM, BA (Hons).

In his graduation message to Wing 270, Mr Wintringham reminded the new constables that “a police officer who is principled and brave, unyielding in upholding the law, but with compassion for the victim and the marginalised, will be a force for good whose impact is hard to overstate”.

Community focussed

Members of Wing 270 have service to the community firmly in their sights. This community focus is visible on the faces of a number of constables who are currently supporting the ‘Movember’ campaign. ‘Movember’ is an annual charity event whose participants ‘Grow a Mo’ to raise vital awareness for men’s health, specifically prostate cancer and depression.

Members have also been active in the local Kapiti community volunteering their own time to pick up a paint brush and lend a helping hand to ease the pressure for a young family facing serious health challenges.

Members of Wing 270 have been posted to stations throughout the country.

They will be posted to:

Northland – Dargaville (1), Kerikeri (1), Whangarei (1)
Waitemat? – Henderson (4), North Shore (4), Orewa (1)
Auckland City – Auckland Central (2), Avondale (4), Mt Wellington (2)
Counties-Manukau – Manurewa (1), Otahuhu (1), Papakura (2)
Waikato – Hamilton (4),
Bay of Plenty – Rotorua (3), Tauranga (6)
Eastern – Gisborne (1), Hastings (1)
Central – Hawera (1), Levin (1), New Plymouth (1), Palmerston North (1), Taumaranui (1), Wanganui (1)
Wellington – Kapiti (2), Lower Hutt (2), Porirua (1), Upper Hutt (2), Wellington (4)
Tasman – Greymouth (1), Nelson (1)
Canterbury – Christchurch (8), Timaru (1)
Southern – Dunedin (3), Gore (1), Invercargill (3), Queenstown (1)

Wing 270 prize winners:

• Minister’s Prize for First in Wing was awarded to Constable Olivia Colebourne, posted to Mt Wellington. Constable Colebourne was also awarded The Ericsson Practical Prize (overall winner for practical assessments, skills files & forensic fingerprinting) and the Intergraph Computer Skills Prize (overall winner in computer studies).

• Commissioner’s Prize for Second in Wing was awarded to Constable Adam Gifford, posted to Taumaranui. Constable Gifford was also awarded the International Police Association Academic Prize (overall winner for Academic Exams 1, 2 & 3).

• Patron’s Prize for Third in Wing was awarded to Constable Nicholas Harwood, posted to Dunedin. Constable Harwood was also awarded the Holden Tactical Skills & Safety Prize (overall winner in defensive tactics, firearms & driving).

• The Physical Training and Defensive Tactics Award was awarded to Constable Warren Benton, posted to Hamilton.

• The Driver Training Award was awarded to Constable Daniel Bellhouse, posted to Kapiti.

• The Meltzer Prize for Weapon Training was awarded to Constable Liam Tanner, posted to Wellington.

Police Association Prizes for Section Achievement:

This prize is awarded to an individual from each section who, in the collective view of the members of the section and the wing instructors, made the greatest contribution to the overall success of the team.

• Section One: Constable Jamie Cook, posted to Invercargill
• Section Two: Constable Nichola Ellis, posted to Gisborne
• Section Three: Constable Victoria Holden, posted to Hastings
• Section Four: Constable Rebecca Milnes, posted to Christchurch.

Wing Patron: Michael Wintringham CNZM, BA (Hons)

Michael Wintringham was born in Blenheim, went to St John’s College, Hastings, and has a BA (Hons) degree from Victoria University of Wellington. He started his career in the New Zealand Treasury in 1970, and between 1980 and 1984 was posted to Washington as Economic Counsellor at the New Zealand Embassy. He then worked as an Assistant Auditor-General, before leaving the public service to work for a management consultancy in Wellington.

Michael Wintringham is the current chair of the Earthquake Commission (EQC). He joined the EQC board as deputy chairman in June 2004. State Services commissioner until May 2004, Mr Wintringham has also been chief executive of the Ministry of Housing. He is currently a member of the Remuneration Authority, formerly the Higher Salaries Commission.

Mr Wintringham was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2005 New Year Honours, for public services as State Services Commissioner.

Graduation will take place at The Royal New Zealand Police College, Papakowhai Rd, Porirua, on Thursday 17 November at 2:00pm. The ceremony will be attended by the Honourable Judith Collins, Minister of Police, and Police Commissioner Peter Marshall.


Content Sourced from
Original url